Skip to main content

Create a group configuration for a single or multiple group system

Last updated on October 20, 2026

Overview​

You can use AccelByte Gaming Services (AGS) Group Service to create group configurations for single and multiple group systems. A configuration defines the kinds of groups players can form, such as open, public, or private groups. It also sets the group member roles and the maximum number of members in each group. You can create a configuration in the AGS Admin Portal or with the AGS CLI.

Prerequisites​

You will need access to:

  • The AGS Admin Portal.
  • The AccelByte Group API documentation.
  • The AGS CLI, if you follow the AGS CLI steps. Sign in with an account that can manage group configurations and group roles. See Install and sign in.

Create a group configuration​

To create a group configuration for a single clan system or a multiple group system, follow these steps in the Admin Portal or the AGS CLI:

  1. On the Admin Portal sidebar, go to Multiplayer > Guilds & Clans > Configuration.

  2. On the Group Roles page, click the Create Configuration button. A pop-up will appear. Image shows the Create Configuration button highlighted on the Group Configurations page in the AGS Admin Portal

  3. Fill in the required fields:

    Image shows the Create Configuration pop-up window

    • Fill in Code with a unique identifier in an appropriate format (e.g., "group-clan").
    • Fill in the Name and Description to provide extra information about the group configuration you're creating.
    • Set the limit of the number of members that are allowed to join the group by filling in the Maximum Group Members.
    • Use the dropdowns for Group Admin Role and Group Member Role to select a role for each from a list of roles that have been created.
    • You can specify your group configuration to allow or disallow players to join a multiple groups at the same time by toggling Allow Join Multiple Groups.
      • If it is set to ALLOWED, users can join any group using this type of configuration.
      • If it is set to NOT ALLOWED, users can only join one group that has this configuration.
  4. Click Add to complete and create your group configuration.